Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bibilulu_gw

pruning lantana and jatropha

bibilulu
15 years ago

Hello all, I am a novice gardener (really really novice), and I have some questions about pruning lantana and spicy jatropha. Have read that I should prune my lantana back about 2/3s, if I do so there are a lot of woodsy branches underneath, should I go in and clear that out as well?

For my jatropha, I have two of them and they both are like four branches that shoot out of the ground, so it is not very impressive, how the heck should I prune these things so that they look different that just branches coming out of the ground.

Is now a good time to cut these plants back??

I told you I know nothing, but I consider my self armed(have pruning shears) and dangerous(don't know what I am doing)

thanks for any input!!

-Robbye in Largo

Comments (8)

• amberroses
    15 years ago

Is the spicy jatropha the one with the pink flowers? If so I have three of them. Mine are huge. They grow quickly. If you only have 4 sticks they are probably pretty young. Just let them grow a little bigger and then decide if you want them to look like a small tree or a big bush. If you want a tree you should trim the bottom branches. I guess it is sort of like crape myrtle prunning. Leave them alone until they get bigger. I don't usually trim very much height off.

I just discovered how to revive lantana myself. For years I would just dig them up and replace them every year. If you prune them back they will sprout right back in the spring. Go ahead and be aggressive with the prunning.

• tony_k_orlando
    15 years ago

This is how HARD I prune my Jatropha

{{gwi:820520}}

• Irma_StPete
    15 years ago