Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ka0ttic

what salad greens do you grow in FL?

ka0ttic
10 years ago

This is my first time trying to grow salad greens. I know they're more of a cool weather crop but what have you guys had success with?

Over the last month I've sowed 2 different mesclun mixes and spinach. I don't get much morning sun unfortunately so I've kept them shaded on the front porch where they only get 3-4hrs of late afternoon sun. I was worried that they wouldn't be getting enough sun or that it would still be too hot but they seem to be doing pretty good. Today I just harvested about half the mesclun mix I sowed first.

Here's a picture I took a week ago. Mesclun on top and bottom, spinach on right. I spaced them pretty thickly mainly due to the space restraints and I knew I would mostly be harvesting them fairly young. And yes that is a blue litter box at the bottom ;-)

Comments (8)

• carolb_w_fl_coastal_9b
    10 years ago

I understand greens can tolerate more shade than other veggies.

I grow Pinetree's lettuce mix, baby bok choy, perennial arugula & chicories - also Egyptian & Welsh onions, which I mostly use in salads - all easily grown in containers. Never been able to get spinach or chard to thrive, unfortunately.

Tatsoi is another great green for salads, btw. & I use the 'natural' snail pellets around all the mustard/cabbage family plants to control slugs & snails; they seem to love those, while ignoring the mature lettuces, arugula & chicories. I do sprinkle the pellets when sowing seeds to keep the seedlings from 'disappearing'.

You likely won't face a snail/slug problem, since it looks like your containers are on concrete..?

• L_in_FL
    10 years ago

I grow Pinetree's lettuce mix, other leaf lettuces (Merveille des Quatres Saisons is one of my favorites), and this year I will be trying bok choy and spinach.

I prefer mild salad greens, so I have not tried growing any of the bitter or peppery types.