Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
castorp

Summer Greens?

castorp
11 years ago

I'm just beginning to harvest cool season greens, which makes me wish (once again) that I could grow some kind of greens in summer. Though I've been trying for years, I still haven't found a summer green that I really like. I'm not asking for summer salad greens anymore, just good cooked greens. I realize this is a perennial question on this forum, but here goes: can any of you suggest a really good summer green?

I would like avoid things you have to boil to remove poisons (like chaya) and especially slimy, musty tasting greens (like malabar spinach).

I really like vegetable amaranth--but so does every bug in the garden. I'm considering trying one of the grain amaranths with edible leaves this summer, which are supposed to be less attractive to pests.

Any suggestions?

Thank you.

Bill

Comments (64)

• castorp
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks again to you all. I'm narrowing down my list of things to try.

Silvia, I've never heard of wasabi arugula. We love arugula--especially the wild type--and we love wasabi, so it sounds really good.

Good to know about the white malabar spinach, Christine. If I try any malabar, it will be the white. It was the red type I tried years ago.

The moringa is still tempting me (even though I really don't have room for it). Maybe it's flavorless--or peppery--but from what I read it seems very productive and easy and I figure it has to be better than the bagged spinach I too often resort to during the hot months. Maybe it would be good back up.

My goal is to have greens all year.

Thanks again.

Bill

• whgille
    11 years ago

Bill, you are in luck, I have the wild Italian arugula and I will mail you together with the heart tomato seeds. Do you like chicories? I have those too. Let me know...