Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bocabrian

Stunted Veggie Seedlings

BocaBrian
12 years ago

On October 1st, I started an organic vegetable garden in a community garden in Boca Raton. This is my first attempt at gardening in South Florida. The garden provided the soil for our raised beds and I added some Black Kow amendments. I have heirloom tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, cauliflower and beans that are doing pretty well. I have sown seeds of carrots, beets, leeks and radishes which all sprouted, but that's as far as they have gotten. The seeds were sown around the first of October. My radish seedlings looked great in the beginning and eventually yellowed and died. I tried sowing them again and the same thing happened. My leeks are looking ragged. The carrots are hanging on and showing a small sign of improvement, as well as the beets, but very little growth. I water daily, but wonder if I should add more amendments to the soil and re-sow the seeds? Any advice for a novice South Florida gardener just trying to grow a few veggies?

Comments (9)

• BocaBrian
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I *think* I figured out how to upload some pics.

{{gwi:985230}}

{{gwi:985231}}

{{gwi:985232}}

{{gwi:985233}}

• slopfrog
    12 years ago

I'm certainly no expert in raised bed gardening, but they are very stunted. They should be much bigger at nearly 9 weeks. One obvious problem is that they are planted too densely, and they are competing too much for nutrients. This is a common mistake for new gardeners and I've done it myself. You need to thin them out. Pulling them up and transplanting them might work but you will likely damage root structure and set them further behind.

Even still, I'm surprised they aren't bigger. You may be overwatering them, and the radishes may have been killed by "damping off."