Return to the Florida Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What direction does the freezing wind come from in FL?

Posted by David149 Florida (My Page) on
Sun, Dec 2, 12 at 13:38

I am new to Florida and am aware that in most areas of the country, the freezing wind comes from a specific direction. Does anyone know what direction that tends to be in Florida?

Thank you!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What direction does the freezing wind come from in FL?

I would guess North?

o

Actually, cold air usually moves in from the northwest. But the coldest nights occur on a perfectly clear night after a cold front has moved in. With no clouds and no wind, the cold air settles right down to the ground.

Carol in Jacksonville

o

Hi
Suppose it varies in different parts of florida but in the zone 10 parts it's always from the NW The severity and duration is dictated by the jet stream . The further south it moves, the colder lol ususally lasts 3 days with the lowest temps on the second day. The fronts always originate from the Pacific NW. the lowest temps are when it's calm ,naturally because florida is surrouned by th warm gulf stream so the closer to the ocean the warmer it stays .
Something I've always wondered about is the temp drop just before dawn always the lowest temp of the day Sunmmer and winter Anybody know why?? gary

o

I concur with Garyfla. REAL cold fronts usually swoop in from the NW, coming down from Canada and rolling south/east.

Garyfla, I believe the temp drop just before pre-dawn is simply due to it being the furthest point in time from sundown. By dawn all the stored heat in soil, stone, pavement, etc. has dissipated from the night's cooler temperatures and there's just nothing left to radiate.

o

Here it is straight from the North!!

o

Here in the center of the state it comes from both the North and Northwest.

o