Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grice_gw

Fish emolsion/Yea or Nay???

grice
19 years ago

I am curious to know is fish emulsion good to use on all houseplant and palms? Is it safe to use in conjunction with miricle gro or is that a no -no? Also how often would I use it? Does it smell like fish?

If these sound like dumb questions,please bear with me and do not stone me(I'm a newbie).

Thanks all

Grice

Comments (23)

• mkjones
    19 years ago

Yay. Hiya, Grice. I use fish emulsion like you would a vitamin. It's wonderful to help a limping plant, to beef up an existing beauty, and good to keep a plant healthy. It does smell rather unpleasant, so I often will take a plant outdoors, water it w/the emulsion and let it air out. That usually does the trick. I've never used it regularly on a plant, but I think it would be just fine. I would refrain from using it WITH MiracleGro, simply because it is a fertilizer, the organic alternative to the chemical MG.

No question is a dumb question!! =)

MKJ

• grice
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks MKJ,both for the answer and the reassurance.
    Happy Spring(it's almost here.YEA!!!!)
    Grice

• Bossy vossy
    19 years ago

great product but yes, it stinks but just for a little bit. not enough to keep me from using

• grice
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thank you Vossner.
    Grice

• tommyr_gw Zone 6
    19 years ago

I like it and the smell doesn't bother me at all, they do make it oderless for those that do not like the smell.

Tom

• grice
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks Tommy.
    Grice

• birdsnblooms
    19 years ago

Fish emulsion is good for cactus..If you want, you can alternate: one month fish emulsion..the next month Miracle Gro, etc, etc..It's safe on plants, doesn't burn roots, (as far as I've read) but doesn't require all the nutrients as other foods. Toni

• cynthiacTX
    19 years ago

I use seaweed emulsion. My plants LOVE it!

• grice
    Original Author
    19 years ago