Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jelyda14

Wilting Coleus, help!

jelyda14
17 years ago

Hello, I am new to raising Coleus. I just recently purchased one and researched how to care for it, but I am having trouble.

I would greatly appreciate anyone who could help and answer a few questions for me, I don't want to lose my coleus!!

I planted the Coleus in a mix of potting soil and perlite with a few stones at the bottom of the pot to help with drainage. The plant wilts after about 5 hours of being watered, but the soil is still moist. I water it again and it perks back up for a bit.

So far, I am watering the plant 2-3 times a day. It seems like too much water, but I do not know what else to do.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

How often should the plant be watered?

Also, I am in Zone 7, how much sunlight should my Coleus receive? I am not sure what type I have, but the leaves are pink in the middle, with marroon outside of that, and green on the very edges of the leaf. I have not been able to find a picture or name of the Coleus that I have. So far, I have been giving the plant indirect sunlight.

Thanks for any advice!!!

- Jen

Comments (3)

• Josh
    17 years ago

Jen, If the soil used was labeled "potting soil" then perhaps the perlite isn't necessary. Also, in recent years lots of research has found that stones aren't necessary for drainage in pots. Just be sure there are holes in the pot and fill with soil alone.

Size of pot can be the problem. Some Coleus have 1 to 2 inch leaves and stay 12 inches tall while others can be 36 inches tall with 4 to 6 inch leaves and need larger pot. So do you think you increased the size of your pot enough when repotting? Was the original pot very full of roots? Might have needed spreading out a bit in the new soil. The roots may not be growing out into the new soil.