Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katwomn59

Foliage plants for west facing balcony

katwomn59
18 years ago

I am a newbie here and this is my first season growing anything. I am gardening in containers and mostly post on the container forum. I have a west facing balcony that gets direct sun from about 1:30-6:00, dappled sun til around 7:30. I have mostly herbs, and stuff to cook with. So now I am trying to figure out what else I want to plant. Being a newbie I am not sure where to start.

What I do think I want though, is more color. I hadnt thought much about esthetics cause I mostly wanted stuff to eat. But now that I pretty much have the must haves, I am starting to think more about ornamentals. I do have 2 windowboxes of petunias (debudded right now, cause I am spraying for flower thrips), but everything else is just plain green. I dont want anymore flowers right now because I am terrified of bees, and if the petunias bring around a whole lot of bees I may not be able to take it. A few maybe, but I dont know if my nerves can stand a whole lot of bees flying around me.