Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
green_frog

ID this coleus!

green_frog
19 years ago

Hi! I bought it at a local nursery - it was a GIANT so I split it in two and now they flank my front door. I sketched out the leaf hoping a pro or a coleus fan like myself could help me ID it. And, while you're there, if you know what that hosta is... I'm a fairly newbie shade / foliage gardener and I can't ID either one of these on coleusfinder.org or ANY hosta collection website. Thanks so much for the help! :)

Here is a link that might be useful: horticulture art

Comments (9)

• green_frog
    Original Author
    19 years ago

woops! would help a bit if the LINK worked! :))) try THIS one!

Here is a link that might be useful: a mystery shade garden

• Josh
    19 years ago

Link needs password to enter.

• green_frog
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Hi! Here's the new link and passowrd. thanks, josh. apparently i am a newbie as well to the "webshots" experience. :))

Here is a link that might be useful: horticultural art

• green_frog
    Original Author
    19 years ago

pw - slugresistant

Here is a link that might be useful: horticultural art

• Josh
    19 years ago

Well, after all that I didn't need a password after all. Your photos are very good but Coleus are so-o-o hard to identify. I ordered a dozen from Singing Springs this year and flippng back thru catalog your Coleus just might be 'Vulcan'. Link below and see what you think. This wasn't one of my selections but I found the descriptions to be very thorough as to color, size, etc.so it might be helpful.

Can't help with your Hosta ...they don't do well here. You might post your query on the Hosta Forum...probably get a good answer there. josh

Here is a link that might be useful: Coleus 'Vulcan'

• Josh
    19 years ago