Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
made2_gw

Newbie at gardening

made2
9 years ago

Moving from a condo to a single family home with my own yard. Yay! Super excited and ready to pretty my front and back yard. What are some great foliage that is easy to maintain and can stay planted outdoors all year long during our harsh chicago winters ? Also looking for bushes that bloom or turn red during fall. Ill take any advice on perrenials that will bloom every year? Please help im a total newbie but am committed to making my new garden beautiful. I loves reds n lots of color, anything to attract butterflies and hummingbirds. Also small trees. Im open and ready. What can i plant this year that will be great for fall and next year since im moving in so late in the summer season...Thanks bunches.

Comments (2)

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Congratulations on your new home! Midsummer is the most stressful time to plant (both for you and the plants) due to the heat, so I would wait until the fall or next spring to do your planting. Also, with the information you've given, it's difficult to make helpful suggestions on what to plant in your yard. For now, I'd advise getting some nice large planters and good potting soil, and plant them to satisfy your urge for something pretty while you learn about your yard and think about how you will use it.

Before planting your gardens, you will want to do some planning and background work. Start with checking out the soil and the sun/shade conditions in your yard, both now and as the season changes.
    Sun/shade: