Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grammahony

What is this beautiful coleus?

grammahony
21 years ago

I saw it at McDonalds tonight. It has a brown looking background, then light splashes of pink and white, and lime (I think) through it.

If nobody can help me, I might have to go get a sample of it soon, and try rooting it. I am new with coleus, but will give it a shot. It was so pretty, and different.

Leslie

Comments (11)

• raincrone

Go to http://www.coleusfinder.org -- it's got pictures of nearly 800 different coleus!

• raincrone

Go to http://www.coleusfinder.org -- it's got pictures of nearly 800 different coleus!

• raincrone

• JohnnieB
    21 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Without a photo it's impossible to say. With a photo somebody who really knows their coleus MIGHT be able to identify it, especially if it's one of the really common and distinctive ones. There are hundreds of named coleus that are propagated from cuttings, and hundreds more that are propagated from named and unnamed seed mixes.

• grammahony
    Original Author
    21 years ago

Well, I went to McDonald's last night, and asked if I could take a slip of their coleus. I got one, and took most of the bottom leaves off, and stuck it in water. You've said to use root hormone. I have a powdered one. Do you add it to the water? If so, how much, to how much water? Hate to keep asking the same question over and over, but need an answer.
    Leslie

• Russ_Hammer
    21 years ago

Hi Leslie.
    Go to www.glasshouseworks.com and see if you find a picture
    of your coleus there. They sell a large number of coleus.
    You shouldn't need any rooting hormones for rooting coleus
    in water. It could be used if you were rooting in a medium
    of some kind, but I think it's unnecessary for coleus since
    they are among the fastest and easiest plants of all to root. I would recommend using soilless ingredients to make