Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nibblin

foliage in bright/full sun

nibblin
20 years ago

i'm new to gardening, and i'm exploring options for a bed i just recently dug. this bed is in full sun. any suggestions for foliage? easy to care for, hardy, etc.

or are foliage plants more for shade gardens?

i'm actually not quite sure what i want, i've been going from herbs, annuals, etc. for 2 weeks.

thanks in advance.

Comments (3)

• loniesmom
    20 years ago

Smart garden plans should account primarily for foliage instead of flowers since the majority of perennials only bloom for a few weeks and it's the foliage you look at the rest of the year. To say that foliage is only for shade is to hint that you have no faith in finding flowers for the shade garden, IMO. Plan your garden before you put anything in - layout your planting arrangement on paper accounting for the full grown size of the plants. Don't buy anything until after you've taken your notebook and toured your local gardens - botanical if you have any, neighbors, garden society tours, local high-end nurseries, etc. Decide what you LOVE, make a note of its characteristics and draw it into your plan. Then start small and be patient. To me, the smaller plants suffer less transplant shock and are therefore more likely to survive the move into your garden. There is a world of possibility which only your personal preference can begin to narrow down. Find an inspiration, develop a vision as to the purpose/use may be for this garden and plan plan plan so you don't have to dig up and move around (like I do - LOL). Variety is the spice of life and for some of us the look of a carnival upon which a rainbow just threw up is exciting, to others it's disconcerting and only you can decide where the line is drawn.

• josie_z6b
    20 years ago