Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
resedit

Colius Propogation

resedit
21 years ago

OK- newbie here.

But that's OK- this is supposedly an easy one ;)

We have lots of gorgeous colius plants in our newly planted garden, different colorful varieties- and they are doing very well.

At the nursery they said that frequently they make it through the winter OK here if you put a paper bag over them on the coldest nights (rarely drops to freezing- most winters it never does) but some winters are too harsh, and some plants won't winter well even in normal winters.

She said just take cuttings in the fall, grow em indoors over winter, and replace the dead ones in spring from the cuttings.

I've only grown succulents from cuttings. The kind where you just stick em in the dirt and they just grow.

I've looked on the web and everyone says that coleus is extremely easy to root, and I've seen three different methods.

I assume that since they are easy any of them will work, but I'll ask here anyway-

Method One :

Take cutting. remove leaves so that only top two leaves remain. Cut remaining stem so that it is about 2 inches long. Dip stem in rooting hormone powder. Put in potting soil, mist daily to keep moist.

Method Two :

Same cutting advice, but no rooting hormone. Put in sterile pot filled with vermiculite/pete moss mixture (or perlite/pete moss). water once and put in plastic bag sealed. Keep out of direct sunlight, shouldn't need to water again until planting.

Method Three :

Same cutting advice, but no rooting hormone. Put stem in water and leave in water. When roots grow and are about an inch long, remove from water and insert into potting soil.

-=-

Method Three seems the easiest. I don't have to buy anything.