Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
josafeen

total newb question- compensating cool crops with partial shade?

josafeen
15 years ago

So i am about to start all my seedlings, and i bought some cool weather stuff, brocolli and snap peas. I was wondering if i could direct sow, early spring,(because i'm late for a spring harvest) in a bed that i have that is partial shade (probably only gets full sun 4-5 hours), and is generally cooler than my full sun plot, because it it backs up to woods (on the north side), and on the south side it is faced with terrace walls which seem to have a cool sheltering effect.

so in short, my question is, can i compensate for a late start on cool weather vegetables with a partially shaded/ tree sheltered area? thank you!

Comments (3)

• heather38
    14 years ago

I can't help too much as a newbe myself but I planted cabbage as a transplant today which I found I had left way to late to start, so I have surrounded them with bush snap peas, nothing ventured, nothing gained, this is how us new people learn, we will make mistakes but we may find something good which works, I am from a gardening family and we have loads of folklore but different places produce different results, try it, just a small patch if it works brilliant if it doesn't what have you really lost? you have gained knowledge and lost something what you wouldn't have had anyway if you hadn't given it a go, good luck

• trianglejohn
    14 years ago