Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gregw_gw

turn small back yard into 4 season garden

Gregw
20 years ago

I have a very small urban back yard (all grass) and would like to round up the whole thing and begin a year round garden. I am a novice gardener and would like some advice on the best way to proceed and/or the best reference book to read before I begin. Thanks in advance, Greg zone 6, Ky.

Comments (7)

• kendrab225
    20 years ago

I recommend Square foot Gardening by Mel Bartholew & Four Season Harvest by Eliot Coleman. I have read hundreds of gardening books and these are the only methods I really use.
    I am also in the process of turning my city lot into a complete garden. It was all grass, shrubs, & trees when I moved here. It has taken some time. I dug up the grass one section at a time and replaced it with compost, manure, & vermiculite. I currently have 2 long beds 4 feet by 25 feet each. I plan to build 2 more beds this summer with the same measurements.
    Kendra

• kathy_in_illinois
    20 years ago