Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dragonrider_gw

Starting a fall/winter vegetable garden

dragonrider
17 years ago

Hello:

I am new to gardening and would like to start a fall/winter garden.Not sure what would be best to plant. I have mixed soil of red clay and black dirt. Also would like to keep the pesticide use to a minimum so what best to use for bugs.

I realize these are very general questions but I'm just not sure where to begin.

Thanks for any help

I am also starting an herb garden indoors for the fall so I will have some for the holidays.

Comments (4)

• catherine_nm
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

You don't mention your zone, but I'm assuming you have a pretty mild winter season. Salad greens are a great choice, but so are carrots, beets, radishes, cabbage, collards, broccoli, cauliflower, maybe even peas, all of the cool-weather lovers that are so hard to grow in the heat of summer.

I'm in zone 5 and live on a mountain side, so we're already seeing night temperatures in the 50s and day temperatures in the 70s. I planted my fall carrots and peas a month ago, and lettuce, spinach, radishes, kale, and beets last weekend (it may be too late for the beets, and the others may not get very big before they stop growing). We'll have a mild frost in mid to late September, then a bit more good weather, then a hard freeze in late September or early October. For most of the cool-weather crops, the first light frosts will just sweeten the flavor, not kill them outright. So I planted things that will mature in 45-60 days (yeah, that works better for the carrots than the later stuff).

But what I'm saying is, pick out things you think you will probably eat, then check how many days to maturity versus how many days until you get a hard freeze. I'm betting you can plant a LOT of things still this weekend for harvest this fall and winter.