Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
homersgarden

What can I plant now for fall harvest in zone 7?

homersgarden
20 years ago

I live in zone seven and am looking for some vegies to plant in new raised beds that did not get finished until this week (never enough time). I now have these great raised beds with beatiful soil, but it is almost September. Anyone have suggestions of what may be successful? The area gets sun from 11:00 until sundown. We usually don't frost here until late October.

Thanks!

Comments (6)

• morningstar_nwfl
    20 years ago

salad greens, beets, radishes, spinach, english peas, kohlrabi, and other cole crop seedlings would be my guess

• SIMOONE
    20 years ago

Morningstar is right. I just planted those same crops (except kohlrabi). I also planted brussels, cauliflower, carrots, broccoli, radish and swiss chard. Our frost date is around Oct. 22 or so. Some of these crops can take a little bit of frost from what I've read. This is my first time with a fall garden. I am planning on getting those hoop things and covering with plastic if we're expected to get more than a few nights of frost.

Homer, maybe we can compare notes. Good luck!

• kathy_wa
    20 years ago

Hi! You'll definitely want to check out www.territorialseed.com an OR company - they have a great print winter catalog with growing hints. Their web site has a special winter gardening section.

Per their grow chart, you can still direct seed Arugula, spring cabbage, carrots, corn salad, spring peas/favas, lettuce, mustard greens, and radishes. And of course garlic!

Having said that, the last couple of years I've been experimenting with fall/winter gardens. Arugula does great. Have not had luck with the overwintering crops planted in July/August like cabbage and broccoli - they get all chewed up by slugs. Fava beans and peas croaked from the cold. I am sure I am colder than you, though.