Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowersandthings

Sow I'm sowing... Which others are your favorite winter crops?

flowersandthings
19 years ago

So I'm sowing beets, broccoli raab, chard, turnip parsley, and????? Which others are some of your favorite winter crops???? Can I sow peas now??? :)

Comments (15)

• dethride
    19 years ago

I'm working feverishly on finishing my coldframes for my Napoli carrots and Bloomsdale spinach. Maybe some romaine, too. Out in the garden I've planted collards, Red Russian kale, and Early Dividend broccoli. I've got row covers for the cold and chicken wire frames for the stupid deer. And to cap off things - radishes!

• jonjon
    19 years ago

HI Dethride,

How were you planning to use your cold frame, in terms of keeping the veges growing as long as possible.
    I'm new to cold frames and just finished my own and was wondering how to actually grow the plants in there, and when to leave them to go dormant versus keeping them growing.

• Codywalker
    19 years ago

Hi, I'm experimenting with the grow tunnels this year, so I'm trying small plantings of lots of things. I planted carrots, spinach, lettuce (didn't germinate well), peas (never germinated), broccoli, mache, kale, beets, radishes and turnips. Everything fits in 3 "somewhat" raised beds, about 2.5 foot wide, 12 foot long. I have everything except the broccoli under homemade grow tunnels (9 gauge wire hoops and 3 mil plastic). I read somewhere that it's tricky growing peas in the fall. The seeds don't like to germinate in soil that is too warm, and while the plants are hardy, the pea pods don't really like the frost. I'll try once more next year, maybe shading the seed area in late summer.

• mid_tn_mama
    19 years ago

I planted my pea seeds in sept when the ground was still warm. But they love the cooler weather once they get going.