How tall of a trellis for cucumbers?

DianeGA
20 years ago

What would be sufficient? 3'? 6'? The varieties I'm considering are:

Muncher

Straight Eight

Marketmore

Poinsett 76

Also, would you recommend one of these over the others for flavor?

Thanks!

Comments (22)

• bushpoet
    20 years ago

Diane, I'm no expert but for the last couple of years I've been using 5' trellises for cukes (6' bamboos with 1' in the ground and some sisal twine woven among them).

Cukes seem to make a fair amount of lateral shoots when I pinch the tip & then they seem to set more fruit on those side branches, so taller may not necessarily be more productive. They've never outgrown the 5' trellises but my growing season is shorter than yours.

I grew Marketmore 76 last year; loved the crunch & flavor.

Good luck!

• peggy_g
    20 years ago

Unless the type is a bush type go for 4-6'. I have grown Straight 8 twice and it covered 4', and would have liked to grow higher.

• meldy_nva
    20 years ago

I've grown Straight Eight & Marketmore, as well as burpless, India gherkin and others. Prefer Straight 8's flavor. All my cukes are grown on fencing applied to 7' arches. I don't tip-pinch since I *want* them to grow to the arch. It is wonderful to just reach up and pick the cuke without playing search-through-the-leaves! Straight 8 happily goes up and just across the arch-top... that's at least 9 feet. The 'bush' goes to 4' and 'short-vine' types seem to go to about 6' but produce much better than ones not on trellis. No matter what variety you choose, they seem to do better (more cukes, less disease) when on a trellis.

• microfarmer
    20 years ago

My lemon and Armenian cukes (some attaining 18" length and 5" diameter) both helped each other climb and then descend my 4' high concrete re-inforcing wire "cage" and continued to other garden destinations. Pinching is a good answer. I just let mine wander, and wander they did...

• kristie8888
    19 years ago