Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jasoncoleman_gw

Indoor garden, pot size and seeds!

jasoncoleman
15 years ago

Hello,

I'm new to the forum and a somewhat novice gardener. I've been doing veggie gardens for about 4 years now. This year, encouraged by a successful harvest of radishes grown completely indoors under artificial lighting, I thought I'd try and grow through winter.

The biggest item I'm struggling with right now is the seed packed for the cucumbers I'm going to plant says that for 12-13" pot, to do 3 plants per pot. Now, I am actually planning on using a pot that's 12" wide at the top. But I don't have soiled all the way to the top, so the surface area of the soil is about 11".

Should I fill it pretty much to the top?

If I plant multiple plants, how do you space them? Right along the edges as far apart from each other as possible? Or a little more inward? Or in a line across the middle?

Since I'm doing this indoor, I didn't think I'd go right for 3 to the pot, but maybe 2...

I realize these are a bit silly questions, I'm not quite sure what's trivial detail and what's not. I am learning as I go with no one to tell me these things. :)

Thanks!

Comments (5)

• pam225
    15 years ago

I, too, am very interested in hearing about this. I had an awesome year this year with my veggies...I had to purchase a head of lettuce and some corn yesterday - didn't grow corn and lettuce isn't up yet - but other than that, no veggies purchased at the store ALL SUMMER!