Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
organicnature

Winter Garden Help!

organicnature
16 years ago

I need help with planting crop for a cold frame. Is it possible that i can grow vegetables all winter long? what are my options? also does anyone or can anyone give me some good resources for Gardening overall. I am new to Gardening, just planted my first this last summer, turned out very well, eggplants, brussel sprouts, brocoli, watermelon, various squash, peppers, tomatos, and some other goodies, but like i said im new. want to grow through the winter and beyond, could use any help i can get.

Comments (6)

• russh_nepa
    16 years ago

I can strongly recommend a book by Eliot Coleman, Four Season Harvest. As the title suggests, he talks about eating fresh from your garden all year long using the correct mix of cold hardy vegetables.

He talks at length about cold frames, but being in Maine, he also uses a High Tunnel and floating row covers for extra protection.

This is my favorite gardening book.

Russ

• robin_maine
    16 years ago

In my area the days will become too short to support growth around the middle of December. Soon after Ground Hog's day we'll see dormant plants start to grow and winter sown seeds begin to germinate. You can do pretty much the same thing in a cold frame as we do in our greenhouse and hoop houses. Another of Eliot's books, The Winter Harvest Manual, has been a huge help to me. The Winter Harvest Manual can be ordered from Eliot. His address is on his website.

His website shows pictures of some of his greenhouses, a pic of a cold frame surrounded by snow and a lot more.

Here is a link that might be useful: The Winter Harvest Manual

• catherine_nm
    16 years ago

Hi, organicnature