Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
raymondo_gw

New to winter gardening

Raymondo
18 years ago

Hello,

I've recently read Eliot Coleman's book on growing veggies all year round and am a convert. I lived for years in a mild winter climate and completely ignored this period of the year in the garden. It wasn't until I moved, recently, to a much colder place that I started wondering about what I might be able to grow with a hot house. Then by chance I saw this book and realised that with very little effort I could be eating out of my garden all year round. I can't believe I wasted all those years when living in warmer climes!

Anyway, later this summer I'm going to put together a cold frame and experiment a bit. I'm glad I found this forum as well as winter sowing. Now winter will be a busy time in the garden too!

Ray

Comments (8)

• Huckleberry1
    18 years ago

Hey Ray - welcome, I am also fairly new to winter gardening, have only been trying it for a couple years. I've had some success and failures! I usually start my seeds in the house, then when they germinate move them under lights in an unheated shop. When they have a couple of sets of leaves I move them out to my raised beds. The beds are covered with pvc hoops and greenhouse plastic. Where I live in the Pacific Northwest, it is fairly mild in winter, rarely getting below 20 degrees. I've had good success with cole crops - broccoli,collards, kale ect. Some of the really cold hardy lettuces and of course Asian greens. I also have a carrot patch that usually lasts most of the winter with extra mulch. What kind of weather do you have up there? And what kind of crops will you try?

good luck Huckleberry1

• catherine_nm
    18 years ago

I have played with winter gardening a bit, some before my twins were born, then last fall/winter and again this fall.