Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tall_cool_one

how much protection can I get from my cold frame?

tall_cool_one
19 years ago

Last winter I was able to overwinter a few spinach plants with absolutely no protection from the weather. I just trimmed back the frost bitten leaves and had a nice early crop of fresh spinach. This year I planted spinach in my Dutch Single Frame Cold Frame which measures about 24" by 40". It has hard double walled plastic for walls. I currently have romaine, spinach, and multi variety colored lettuce planted in the frame. I will be able to start pulling leaves for salads on the lettuce in the next few weeks if all goes according to plan. Will I be able to keep the plants going through the winter? Will I be able to have fresh lettuce and spinach from my garden in January when I am home from school on a snow day(I'm a teacher not a kid :)? Would putting water bottles painted black in the frame help keep the lettuce and spinach from freezing? Any other ideas short of putting a heater in the frame?

Comments (5)

• swanz
    19 years ago

It's estimated that using a coldframe gives you about an extra zone and a half of protection.

Swanz

• dethride
    19 years ago