Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dianega

Is there a 'how to' Four Season Gardening website?

DianeGA
14 years ago

Hi! I've never tried this before & was wondering if there are any websites that have some basic "how to" info on this. I'm hoping something along the lines of how Square Foot Gardening has a website with a lot of info (squarefootgardening.com). I know Eliot Coleman has a book, but my library doesn't carry it & I wanted to at least get a better idea of what this is like before I buy the book.

I'm in Atlanta, zone 7. The average lows Dec-Feb are in the low-30s to 40s, but there will be a few times that it'll dip into 20's or even a couple of teens at night. My garden faces South so it'll get plenty of sunshine.

Some of my questions (among many!) are:

- Which veggies can take some frost or even a light freeze without protection

- Which need more protection (need covers even for light frost)

- Can you plant new veggies during the winter or have to already have planted during the fall & just harvesting during the winter? Is it too late to put out some transplants now (I can still buy from nursery)? And can I even plant new seeds of cold-hardy veggies if I made a mini greenhouse until they're a few inches tall?

- I think I read somewhere where floating row covers gave an extra 10 degrees or so of protection... is that true? or will it need plastic?

I didn't see an FAQ on the GardenWeb page for this, so if I'm missing something please point me in the right direction. Thanks for any help you can give me!

Comments (13)

• wally_1936
    14 years ago