Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
diane_fla

My brunfelsia nitida...

Diane_Fla
19 years ago

...is very small, but has had a few blooms since I pruchased it. Even at night none seemed to smell, I may have picked up some very faint whiff of something, but so small it may have been my wishful thinking...Ha-ha!

However it is not very warm or humid here right now, do you think it might start having a stronger better scent come summer? It is my first brunfelsia and I have little experience with how reliable they are.

It otherwise is very healthy and happy though!

Comments (16)

• jimshy
    19 years ago

Ditto what Mehitabel said,

You could try a very light application of fertilizer, but you don't want to overdo it during the winter, when it's not growing as much. Brunfelsias can be sensitive to chill, so try to keep it warm and give it a good amount of sun if it's in a pot.

Keep in mind also that scents differ from nose to nose -- your plant might not be a strong as others, or it may not grab you the same way, but this species routinely gets good reviews around this forum, so stick with it a bit longer!

Jim

• angelsmell
    19 years ago

I have brunfelsia, americana, Lactea & Isola, & Magnifico.
    I am waiting to see how they all bloom this spring and summer also, the Lactea & Isola had 1 flower when I got them and they smelled very pretty but didn't seem that strong. I am looking forward to see for myself, this is my first year with all my fragrant plants.
    I have to tell you that Michelia Alba has never stopped blooming since I purchased it in August. Can't believe the flowers it has all the time, at least 3-4 always... I love it.

• joanmary_z10
    19 years ago

Diane_Fla z10FL, I have the following Brunfelseas:

Brunfelsia Americana - highly FRAGRANT of Cloves. Wafts well
    *Brunfelsia Gigantica - absolutely stunning fragrance Exquisite wafter.
    *Brunfelsia Isola - highly FRAGRANT
    *Brunfelsia Lactea - highly FRAGRANT wafts extremely well