Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kasiec

What's your experience with Heliotrope?

kasiec
19 years ago

After some heart ache with growing Plumerias, I needed a break. While browsing through my favorite nursery, I spied the purple Heliotrope. Love the color and scent. The white Heliotrope was right next to the purple ones. I was not impressed at first but after taking a whiff...it came home with me too. Is this an easy plant to propagate from cutting? Will appreciate all suggestions.

Kasie

Comments (10)

• mehitabel
    19 years ago

Hi, Kasie. The fragrant ones are hard to come by, so you made a great find. I love the scent, but I've had a lot of scentless ones.

They grow easily, wilt when they need water. As for cuttings, I'm not good at that, but I think they would be easy if you pare back the unneeded leaves and wilty tips.

I'm sorry to hear about your bad luck with plumeria. I had a couple I had to let go-- no scent! Or maybe my nose didn't get it-- just weren't worth the space.

Let us know how you do with cuttings from your heliotrope!

• Clare_CA
    19 years ago

Kasie, sorry about your experience with growing plumerias. I hope you try again with them. I've never seen the white Heliotrope. I bet it's gorgeous. I rooted a cutting of Heliotrope in a jar of water before transferring it to a container. Humidity is key. I love the smell of Heliotrope. It has a vanilla quality to it.

• angelsmell
    19 years ago

I grew the white and purple Heliotrope last year, It is one of my most favorite fragrant plants, I just love the vanilla smell, it really wafts, I found that the white variety is much more hardier than the purple one, I have 2 white ones that bloom all they time, the purple one lost all it's leaves and is very fussy. I have the white ones in areas where I can smell it when I come into my front door and when I sit on my patio. They do need a lot of water and fertilizer. They don't like real hot weather.

• risingpower1
    19 years ago