Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jasminamccall

Maid of Orleans help! Beginner clumsy girl here :(

JasminaMcCall
10 years ago

I never ever planted anything in my life other than my face on various things; most commonly the floor. I blame gravity! Anyways, I want to plant a Maid of Orleans in my room. After doing much research I have deducted that it is the most fragrant jasmine. Am I right? If not do you have any other suggestions? (Has to be jasmine :) sorry I'm biased because of my name ) how do I take care of it? And I don't want it to become overbearingly large. Where should I buy it? (I'm a poor college student living at home so no crazy prices for me) ONE LAST THING please refrain from using elborate gardening terminology because I'm a complete oaf when it comes to things like these. If you really must please explain them to me while keeping in mind that I fall and bump into things on average 8 times a day :)

Thank you!
Jasmina

Comments (5)

• jujujojo_gw
    10 years ago

It is extremely easy:
    South window in a room
    Normal soil
    Water once a week

That is it.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    10 years ago

That's very insufficient information, juju.

Stick around, Jasmina...you'll have plenty of good suggestions soon! It's important to select a porous, fast draining potting medium and the right container. You'll learn from others that watering by a calender schedule is rarely in the best interests of your plants....at least not for very long.

• ordphien
    10 years ago

Arabian Jasmine is very fragrant. But for most fragrant I would definitely vote for pink Jasmine aka jasminun polyanthum.
    The fragrances however, are not very similar.
    I have them both.
    MOO has a wonderful heady crisp scent that's wonderful but difficult to describe.

Pink Jasmine has an intense classic Jasmine fragrance, but with a hint of musk and alot of sweetness.
    That's the main difference. The sweetness. At least to me.