Return to the Fragrant Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Whats a good lavender for zone 5

Posted by filix z5 (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 4, 07 at 16:41

Hello. I tried some years ago and didn't have much luck. I would like to try again. Thanks. Filix

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Whats a good lavender for zone 5

English Lavender (Lavandula angustifolia) is hardy to your zone but you are on the border line, so mulching and drainage is essential to get the plants through the winter months. Lavender prefers gritty soils, and does not perform well in heavy clays. If you have to many problems with hardiness try potting some up and overwintering it in a warmer place, like a basement.

o

• Posted by mare2 5bSt.Louis (My Page) on
    Sun, Mar 11, 07 at 16:17

I'm far from an expert, but here's what I've found (although my area has technically been changed to Zone 6). I think Munstead is reputed to be the most hardy. Also Hidcote. That said, I don't like those since they seem to flop around here in a slow and miserable death that seems to last about 2-3 years. Of course, we have hot, humid summers. I like Provence best so far. It might be borderline in Zone 5, but I'd still try it, especially if you can find a cheap one out there. Grosso is good, too, but my understanding is that it's a little less hardy than Provence. Hope someone will correct me if I'm wrong. Good luck!
'Mare

o

Thankyou very much. I will look at all of those.

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!

Return to the Fragrant Plants Forum

Information about Posting

• You must be logged in to post a message. Once you are logged in, a posting window will appear at the bottom of the messages. If you are not a member, please register for an account.