Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lindalou2002

Need Ideas on Very Fragrant Flowers

LindaLou2002
19 years ago

I have a small problem. I have a Neighbor that likes to tell me what to do with MY yard/house etc. You see we bought this house with it needing ALOT of work, it was the neighborhood eye sore. Well here I am trying to be good neighbor and tell her that I was cleaning up the side yard and will be planting something like a Lilac bush or something and she tells ME "Oh you can't plant flowers there! I am allergic to them!!" And to boot, she doesn't even go outside!!! I couldn't believe that someone would be so...Pushy (not the word I was thinking of). Anyway this lady tells us all the time what we should NOT do. The only thing we have done is make the house look 100% better and it isn't even close to being done.

Anywho, Since I am new to gardening (well I have a little yellow/green pinky :^> ) I thought you all might be able to help me find some thing to plant there. The length is about 115' and about 1-2 feet wide. I would like something about 2-4 feet tall and straight, not bushy ( so out goes the Lilac :^I have added a link to my web site, 1st link here for just a small part of the driveway. http://home.comcast.net/~thedowcetts/wsb/html/view.cgi-photo.html--SiteID-2090672.html

If you go to the home page, you can click on the house and see the colors (terracotta, mustard yellow, maroon, hunter green) So I am not sure purple would work?

Thank you all......god I love this web site !!!

Comments (14)

• risingpower1
    19 years ago

How about some david austin english rose bushes? Jude the obscure is one possible. To back it up you could have mandevilla laxa climbing over the side of the garage maybe? One thing i've noticed, it does look a bit shady there, does it get much light during the day? If it doesn't maybe you want to consider more shade loving shrubs, possibly some azaleas, rhododendrons or some hostas.

• Ispahan Zone6a Chicago
    19 years ago