Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
veryvee_gw

Searching for scent in zone 5

VeryVee
19 years ago

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to Gardenweb... and gardening in general.

I've always loved fragrant flowers and now that i have a bit of a yard am really excited to grow some of them.

Any suggestions on fragrant plants to grow in a 5b zone ?

I've tried searching through this forum and come up with lots of stuff just not sure what's going to survive in my zone.

Would love to hear some personal experience from anyone who's dealt with zone 5 conditions ...

Thanks!

Vee

Comments (18)

• risingpower1
    19 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I think loniceras, most magnolias, chimonanthus, philadelphus, azaras, cardiocrinums, clethra alnifolia, lily of the valley, daphnes, viburnums, and trachelospermum should survive in your zone.

• VeryVee
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks RisingPower !
    I'd never heard of azaras, cardiocrinums or clethra alnifolia before!
    Honeysuckle, daphne, and viburnum are on my Ultimate Wishlist, though i always thought Trachelospermum out of my range ...i would love a jasmine or jasmine smell-alike.
    What I've got right now though is a west facing yard with a big old maple tree on it.I've been thinking of threading honeysuckle through the fence and using lily of the valley, irises and sweet violets as groundcover under the tree i'm gonna need a LOT of them though !!!
    HAha ... i guess my real question is what are some good ideas for fragrant groundcover in part shade under a tree?
    So far these are the ideas i've come up with ...
    Lily-of-the-Valley (Convallaria majalis)
    Mignonette (Reseda odorata)
    Iris (Iris graminea, I. pallida variegata)
    Sweet violet (Viola odorata)
    Anise Hyssop (Agastache foeniculum)
    Sweet alyssum (Lobularia maritima)
    Sweet Woodruff (Galium odoratum)
    Sweet Cicely (Myrrhis odorata)
    Creeping Phlox (Phlox stolonifera)
    Woodland Phlox (Phlox divaricata)