Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mksmth_zone_6b

Surprise, Surprise Gardenia problem

August Beauty

The day I got it on the 9th of april. Its in fafard 52 I watered it with splash of vinegar that day, since then it has gotten rain water about twice with yesterday being the most recent. It gets sun from rise to about 2pm. Temps have been above 50 and most days up to high 60's low 70's.

Im at a loss to how quick it yellowed considering the same ones are still green at the store.

{{gwi:580799}}

today

{{gwi:580801}}

Thanks

Mike

Comments (12)

• mksmth zone 7a Tulsa Oklahoma
    Original Author
    12 years ago

gonna bump this down. Got some advice in another forum here. Looks like PH could be the problem.

• Robert (zone 7a, Oklahoma)
    12 years ago

I'm no gardenia expert but the pot looks too big for the root ball. Also I'm assuming your potting mix is fast draining? In the pick it looks awfully wet but you probably just watered it. Good luck! I've stopped growing the finky things. ;)

-Robert

12 years ago

Doh! Meant to type 'finicky'. That's what happens when you try to type too fast before going to lunch.
    Have you checked the FAQ section? There's some great tips for gardenias there.

-Robert

Here is a link that might be useful: Gardenia tips

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    12 years ago

Mike is using one of the professional potting mixes from Fafard...and even better, it's one in their line of Heavy Weights. Their term, not mine. It's very coarse textured, composed of more slightly composted pine bark than mucky peat. So, we're pretty sure that it's not the mix.

Mike, not only could the pH of the water be an issue, but so could the soil temperature. Iron (as well as other miner elements) can remain unavailable for uptake until the temperature warms up.

Foliar applications of a chelated iron product can help in cases like this, as well as using a touch of vinegar in your watering can on watering day.