Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bachelorette_pad

proud new parent of some jasmines

bachelorette_pad
17 years ago

Please bear with me as I'm new to all of this. Short story - I just ordered a lot of jasmine plants. They don't have a lot of directions and I need some help in knowing what to do with them. I also need to know if any of them are poisonous to cats. I'd like to put them in all the rooms of my house, but I don't want the cats eating them and getting sick.

so here is what I have:

1) Cestrum Nocturnum - night blooming jasmine. This is the only one destined for outside. I live in northern virginia/washington DC area which I think is Zone 7 - will this survive the winter?

2) South African Jasmine - mitristigma axillare

3) Gardenia Jasmin "Fortuniana" - I think it's actually a type of gardenia

4) Jasminium Sambac aka Maid of Orleans

So how do I take care of these fellows and keep them happy? Also how do I propogate new ones later in the year? I've only ever grown tomatoes. :(

Comments (7)

• bachelorette_pad
    Original Author
    17 years ago

also - if I plant my night blooming jasmine outside, about how fast will it grow? It's only about a foot tall right now - will it grow into a bush by summer?

• siliconmage
    17 years ago

I don't think Cestrum Nocturnum will survive in Zone 7 outdoors. I read 9b - 13 as the suggested zones.

Maid of Orleans is only fussy about humidity and soggy roots. Even if it drops all its leaves, once good conditions are met it will recover.

• bachelorette_pad
    Original Author
    17 years ago

oh no! will my night blooming jasmine be ok living in a pot that I bring in?

• siliconmage
    17 years ago

Yes, it will do fine indoors as long as the temperature and humidity are adequate.

• jimshy
    17 years ago