Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bluema_gw

Please help identify this fragrant flower - Jasmine?

bluema
15 years ago

Please help identify this flower. I took the photo at Ladera Resort in St. Lucia. The flowers had the most fragrant and heavenly scent that's to die for! After some search on the Internet, I've gathered that it might be some sort of Jasmine - Pink Jasmine or something else close to it. I'm no expert, and I hope someone with the expertise will be able to identify this beauty (please note the pink tinge and the leave size/pattern). Sorry the photo is a blur...

Comments (7)

• kandhi
    15 years ago

looks like it is Rangoon Creeper (Quiqualis indica
    ).Clusters of fragrant white pendulous trumpets open white then change to pink, red and finally a deep maroon.

• bluema
    Original Author
    15 years ago

OMG Kandhi - Thank you sooooo much!
    I think you're absolutely right! I did the image search and "Rangoon Creeper" looks exactly like my photo (leaves and all). Unfortunately, I ended up purchasing all kinds of jasmines... but I don't regret getting Jasminum sambac 'Maid of Orleans' - LOOOOVE the fragrance, just like finer Korean lilacs species. You solved the mystery I couldn't solve by contacting the hotel and countless hours of Internet search. Really appreciate your response.

• kandhi
    15 years ago

bluema, I think you can buy this from almost eden, rareflora online nurseries. the price seems to be reasonable.

• bluema
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Hi Kandhi,