Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
somepeabody1

Gardenia - after fertilizing leaves turned yellow and fell off

peabody1
16 years ago

I used fertilizer made for acid loving plants. After I fertilized my outside gardenia, the leaves turned yellow and eventually fell off. Some weeks later, I mixed up some Epsom Salts in a gallon of water, but that didn't help any. Anyone have suggestions what I can do to get it to pick up and put out new leaves?

Comments (35)

• birdsnblooms
    16 years ago

Peabody, by chance, you didn't happen to overfertilize? Even though I'd think leaves would brown instead of yellow.
    I find Azalea fertilzer works best w/gardenias. Just sprinkle pellets and water..no mixing.
    How is your gardenia doing now? Any new growth?
    This probably doesn't matter, but did you check for pests such as mites, mealy or scale? Toni

• mersiepoo
    16 years ago

I'm not an expert by any means, but don't gardenias hate getting fertilized?

• birdsnblooms
    16 years ago

Mersipoo, Gardenias don't need continous fertilizing, but they do require food to keep them green and blooming.
    My 12 yr old (container) gardenia gets fed every two months during growing season..(never in winter) I use azalea fertilzier which keeps soil acidic. I find iron is also essential to prevent chlorosis. Same goes for my 3 yr old grafted gardenia..Where did you get the impression gardenias don't need food? (S) Toni

• jimshy
    16 years ago

I'm also wondering if it's root rot, which gardenias are also prone to . . .

how much are you watering, and do you let the soil get dryish before watering again, or does it stay moist?

Jim

• mersiepoo
    16 years ago