Comments (86)

• ordphien
    9 years ago

You are making me so jealous!
    I covet peonies. I do.
    Beautiful.

• Dar Sunset Zone 18
    9 years ago

Lovely pics guys! That cacti there looks like an Echinopsis. Nice to know they are fragrant. I had always wanted one but they are quite difficult to find at the local bigbbox stores.

• bunti
    9 years ago

true-blue, I am not good at describing the fragrance. but its strong and rich Old Rose fragrance.

• Robert (zone 7a, Oklahoma)
    9 years ago

Love all the pics!
    Wish I could sniff them. Laugh.

I've got a few to share.
    My David Austin rose Jude the Obscure blessed us with its perfumey grapefruit scent. :)

-Robert

9 years ago

One of my new passion flowers finally had a bloom, Passiflora venusta.
    Only had a day to sniff it during lunch and when I got home. The scent reminded me of lemongrass and bubble gum? It's a gorgeous flower.

-Robert

• ordphien
    9 years ago

I'm not sure what it is.
    I've been told a few times that that particular cactus is not fragrant.
    Or rather it shouldn't be.
    I even got called a liar a few times lol.

But this one is fragrant. I had no idea what to tell them.
    I can't exactly prove it was fragrant over pictures lol.

My stephanotis is finally blooming. Smells really good.

• kemistry
    9 years ago

My Belle:

• ordphien
    9 years ago

Belle of the bathroom!
    That's beautiful. How the heck do you guys get your sambacs to bloom so early?

I'm trying again with gardenia radicans.

My fourth attempt. I cannot keep these guys happy.
    Maybe this time?

• true_blue
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for the fragrance description bunti. It can be hard sometimes to describe fragrances. Those are lovely peonies.

Robert, I've read that Jude is one of the most fragrant Austins. Does it waft? What about your passiflora?, BTW, that's such a beautiful picture and flower. It's so evocative...