Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cls1978

Chocolate garden?

cls1978
18 years ago

I've been reading that there are some plants that are "chocolate scented" and would love to try them out. Does anyone know of these plants and where I can find them? I'm new to gardening and can use all the help I can get:)

Thanks,

Christine

Comments (16)

• risingpower1
    18 years ago

Berlandiera lyrata and cosmos atrosanguineus especially. There are a few others listed in the faq, but I still think these are the best. Might want to try an akebia quinata though too.

RP1

• susanzone5 (NY)
    18 years ago

Heliopsis! It's called chocolate sunflower. It is a spreader but easily contained by pulling shoots. Grows very tall.

• rainsong
    18 years ago

choclate scented geranium. I have them.

• cls1978
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thank you all for your responses! I've been searching online and having such a tough time finding a seed company that sells these - ugh! Anyone know where I can go?

• risingpower1
    18 years ago

You won't get the ones I've mentioned from seed, one doesn't set seed, and I haven't seen the other grown from seed. Gilia tricolor is one other which I tried to remember last time.

You'd love the roald dahl garden in chelsea if you were in the UK, a garden dedicated to chocolate.

Happy hunting,
    RP1

• jimshy
    18 years ago

some hoyas (carnosa, sheperdii, minibelle, and maybe one or two others) are said to have a chocolate/vanilla odor, depending on your nose's opinion.

ditto a few orchids: encyclia phoenicia, randii and the famous "Chocolate Orchid", oncidium Sharry Baby.

Jim

P.S. chocolate mint shouldn't be hard to find.

• jbcarr
    18 years ago

There is a chocolate mint- not fragrant to the air, but the leaves do smell of chocolate.

• DarthSquirrel
    18 years ago