Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
no_clue

Repotting Jasmine and Gardenia?

No-Clue
10 years ago

Hi,

I recently bought 3 jasmine and 2 Vietnamese gardenia. Can someone please tell me if I need to repot all five plants now? All are either blooming or have buds so is now a good time or later after they are done blooming for the season. If I need to repot now...I need to know

1. What type of pots
2. What size of the pots
3. What soil
4. What fertilizer
5. How much sun

Thank you very much for your help!

Comments (13)

• No-Clue
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Ok I should have been more specific.

ROBERT!! How do YOU care for your Jasmine and Gardenia? Your plants are always so healthy and happy. Please help out this poor soul before she kills all her plants!

Should I repot them now or wait until after they are done blooming?

Sorry for screaming your name... are your ears still ringing? LOL

• Robert (zone 7a, Oklahoma)
    10 years ago

Ha! I'm no gardenia expert. I've killed many. Check the FAQ section for tips. I wouldn't repot yours if they are currently blooming but if they're pot bound and you can't keep them watered then I'd use Al's 5:1:1 mix.
    That's what I use for most of my fragrant plants including my jasmines. I screen the pine bark fines and perlite before mixing in the peat moss.
    I also use the slow release Dynamite all purpose fertilizer which feeds up to 9 months in the mix. I also throw in some gypsum and a little Ironite for the jasmines.
    Then mabye every two weeks or so (I monitor the leaf color) I'll fertilize with a diluted mix of Dyna-Gro Foliage Pro.
    I only water when the soil is approaching the dry side and after watering I tilt the pot to the side to help drain away the perched water level.
    I grow my jasmines in full sun but you may need to give them afternoon shade in your area.

Hope my tips help! :)

-Robert

10 years ago