Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sweethomealabama_gw

Need lilac help - zone issues!

sweethomealabama
16 years ago

Hi everyone,

I love lilacs, but have never grown them. I am very new to gardening and am taking the plunge, but I screwed up and ordered some apparently not appropriate for my zone. I'm in 8b and they're supposedly only for up to zone 7. The online company I bought from has horrible customer service (should have done my research on that too!) and doesn't even sound like they'll take them back (although I haven't put up much of a fight, yet!). What I bought was called "Lilac Fragrant Mix". I don't even have the info on them anymore because they disappeared from the website. So, here's my question. With some TLC, can I grow this in my zone? (and what kind of TLC are we talking?) or should I try to get the company to take them back?

Comments (7)

• jimshy
    16 years ago

I would try to get them to take 'em back, especially if they knew your address and sent plants inappropriate for your zone. Alternatively, do you have a friend/family in a colder zone you could give them to?

I would check with local nurseries or public gardens to see what lilacs work in your area; they can have a really hard time in hot, humid summers. Hope it works out, we've all made mistakes in ordering the wrong plant/from the wrong company, don't let it discourage you!

Jim

Jim

• jeff_al
    16 years ago

some of them do o.k. in north alabama, zone 7, but most of them will not grow well for you in zone 8b. i have tried several of the "heat-tolerant" ones without success in the east-central part of the state. i read an article by steve bender a few months ago in southern living magazine where he listed 3 new (hybrids?) that had tested well in their gardens. i want to say 'blue skies' was one but not sure. maybe you could research those back issues and find the ones he recommends.
    personally, i think i won't try one again.

• sweethomealabama
    Original Author