Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fragrantgrower

My 'Daniel Weeks' ginger finally bloomed!

How sweet it is!

My Hedychium 'Daniel Weeks' finally bloomed! I've been waiting for almost a year. ;)

How sweet it is! Smells like honeysuckle to me.

Can't wait to sniff it when the sun goes down (the scent is supposed to intensify at night).

-Robert

Comments (11)

• kemistry
    11 years ago

MMMMmm Honeysuckle!! :) The ginger flowers are so pretty too. :)

• Robert (zone 7a, Oklahoma)
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Yes, they are lovely, Kemistry!
    I think one of these days you're going to have to visit my garden in Tulsa and get away from the Portland gloom for a few days. ;)

-Robert

Original Author
    11 years ago

I'm not good with scent descriptions but last night I was detecting hints of Aglaia odorata (Chinese Perfume Plant) and then this morning I compared the scent to a nearby honeysuckle bloom (Lonicera periclymenum) and I can see similarities however the ginger has different scents, almost like peppermint ice cream or something. Laugh.
    I only have two open flowers so I'm sure I'll change my mind later on when more blooms open.

-Robert

• olympia_gardener
    11 years ago

Robert, beautiful flowers. I still wait for my unknown named ginger to grow big enough to bloom, maybe next year.

• kemistry
    11 years ago

I also love the foliage of these ginger plants. They are so pretty! (Reminds me of corns.. I love corn's leaves too.)

• kandhi
    11 years ago

Robert, that looks pretty. The only problem with these gingers is they grow too big and take too much space and do not bloom much.

Original Author
    11 years ago

Hi Kandhi!

I agree that they grow large (mine are in huge pots) but that also means you get to share them with friends when they out grow their pots. ;)
    I chose 'Daniel Weeks' since I've read it's one of the earliest to bloom and so far I agree.
    Mine are covered in flower spikes.