Return to the Fragrant Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Which Jasmine should I get?

Posted by Puchinita5 none (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 13, 14 at 22:23

I have never grown Jasmines before, and only recently started getting into growing flowers/plants in my apartment. So keep in mind i'm a newbie :)

My main questions are, which kind should I get, and where can I get it online?

I really like the look of what I think are "arabian knights" jasmines. I posted a photo of the type of petals I like the best. I read in a recent discussion here that "belle of india" is the most popular, but from what I am seeing, I don't like the long slender petals as much.

I'm not finding "arabian knight" varieties online (so far the only site I've found with already potted jasmines is Logee's, is there somewhere else I should be looking?) so are there other varieties that look like arabian knights that are recommended?

And which ones bloom the easiest and the most? I don't want a plant that has flowers for only a few weeks out of the year, I would prefer one that is always in bloom if possible.

I live in Chicago and have large south facing windows. The jasmine would be kept on the windowsill.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Which Jasmine should I get?

If you are new to jasmines I would suggest you to try jasmine sambac maid of orleans. The fragrant flowers are single row petals. You can find this in any nurseries during summer time in your area. This is very low maintenance jasmine and grows fast and blooms very well during summer time.

o

lowes is having maid of orleans for $14.99. Now they are 50% discount. Its a good deal.

o

The fragrance of jasmine flowers is amazing, you can get beautiful and fresh jasmine flowers from flowersatkirribilli that provide online flower delivery services at best prices.

o