Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
st1977

Beginner with jasmine

st1977
16 years ago

Hello, I am a complete beginner with jasmine plants and this is probably a stupid question. I have night jasmine (which I understand is not a true jasmine), and two types of arabian jasmine (maid of orleans and grand duke). On the grand duke, the flowers just die on the branch. What am I supposed to do? Should I cut them off or let the plant drop it off when it's ready? On the maid of orleans, after the flower falls, the little "setting" that held the flower on the plant is still there. Do I leave this alone so it produces more flowers, or do I cut it? Same for the night jasmine, do I need to cut off the flowers once they are done blooming?

Thank you for your help!

Comments (5)

• jimshy
    16 years ago

OK, for the true jasmines, the only reason to pick off dead flowers is aesthetics -- grand duke doesn't let go of its blooms easily, so it can get kinda ugly if you don't pull 'em off. MOO does the job for you. Both varieties bloom on new growth, so what you can do is clip off the ends of shoots once they're finished blooming, to encourage side shoots and more buds.

Don't know as much about night jasmine, but I'm pretty sure it drops its flowers when they're spent. I think (help me out here if you know, folks) that an inflorescence 'can' produce more flowers after the first ones open, so don't cut them off until you're sure they're all done. Night jasmine is fast growing in full sun and warm temps; cutting back old flowering stems will get you new shoots and buds pretty quick.

Hope this helps, enjoy your jasmines!

Jim

• st1977
    Original Author
    16 years ago