Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alwayzbgrateful

Gardenia in heat stress???

Alwayzbgrateful
12 years ago

Hi all this is my first time posting , and I'm not even sure i'm posting in the right place. If not please let me know. If I am however this is my problem.I have a 3 gallon Aug.Beauty Gardenia potted in a plastic pot (still in the pot and soil I bought it in)I've had it almost 3months i placed it under a tree that gets morning sun and filtered sun after about 10am. I always leave home before the sun even rises and get home after it sets ,so I dont really have much time to check on her. I live in central texas and we're notorious for gettin' sudden drastic temp change. The 'denia was doin fine, blooming and looking her best until we had a week of temps of 110Fand higher.When that happened I took a few sick days from work and went out to see how she handled the heat, and much to my surprise almost all of her leaves are crispy and dry, the buds and stems are wilted looking and dont seem to perk up after the temps die down.I'm a newbie to gardening to say the least, all I knew before I joined this forum was plants die without water. (yeah my blissful ignorance)LOL .I never mist her because we live in a very humid area anyways ,I try to water when the top 3-4 inches of soil is dry.I always water in the evening.Please if anyone has any suggestions as to what I can possibly do help her, I really dont want to lose this plant, I bought it for my 7yr old daughter who has fallen in love with the beautiful blooms! Oh I forgot to mention I also read a thread here about Al's gritty mix and i would like to transplant her into that mix A.S.A.P. I'm still in the process of sifting,measuring and combining,would it be safe to transplant her now or should I wait? Is there anything in particular I need to use before transplanting? Thank you all in advance I've learned so much here!

Comments (2)

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    12 years ago

Hi, welcome!