Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ctgarde

Caring Michelia Alba

ctgarde
10 years ago

Hello,

I am new to grow a michelia alba. I started to grow it since last spring and I have read many threads from this forum as I try to learn about this flower plant.

It seems that my m. alba does not pick up since the transplantation. I notice that there are some small brown dots on the leaves. And the leaves are curled, have dead spots and have white spots on them. I include below some photos to show you.

I would appreciate any comments and advices.

Thanks

Comments (7)

• fragrant2008
    10 years ago

Hello CTGarde,

Looking at your photos i would say its a deficiency of some sort more then any fungus etc, a deficiency in one of the trace elements if its mostly the old leaves that are getting the irregular brown spots it could be manganese but then it could be one or a few trace elements its lacking i noticed a few leaves look abit yellow
    what fertilizers do you use? i now use on all my michelias doffs citrus & mediterranean which contains micro-nutrients feed as a foliage spray once or twice a week you can not really over feed with a foliage spray but use common sense and i also alternate between a seaweed feed and a banana peel feed on the base of the plant.
    hope that helps in some way
    Regards Brian
    p.s may i ask what compost you are growing your michelia Alba in?

• ctgarde
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hello,

Thank you Brian for your advice.

I grow my michelia alba in a Miracle Gro Pro Potting mix where I add more perlite for a better drainage. I use all-purpose fertilizer combined with seaweed extract every two weeks. I know my potting soil is not perfect, but when I planted it, it bloomed 16 flowers with heavenly scent and our neighbors were so surprised. It just showed sign of weakness about 2 weeks ago. I will try to re-pot in 511 mix.