Return to the Fragrant Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Which type of Jasmine?

Posted by shadara 5b-6a (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 22, 10 at 9:50

Hi everyone! I'm hoping you can help me with suggestions. Is there a jasmine expert out there? :)

I have a dear friend, originally from Egypt. She lives in zone 5a (central Michigan) and misses the smell of jasmine. So I wanted to get her a plant for Christmas this year. I had NO idea there were so many types of Jasminum.

I am looking for:
-Strong/Heavy Scent
-Relatively easy to care for
-Can go outside in summer, indoors in winter
-Flowers good for making jasmine tea

I want to make a purchase soon before the cold weather comes in, but have no clue which one to get. Please help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Which type of Jasmine?

Hi, Shadara. I'm not an expert, but I have an elderly nose that doesn't pick up every scent. So if I can detect a strong fragrance, I think nearly anyone would. Here are some that I have found to be nicely fragrant, purchased just this year.

I believe these are all "classic" jasmines, grown all over the Middle East.

Jasmine Jui from TT, viny bush, small flower, very fragrant. Vigorous.

J. sambac, I have Flore Plena and Belle of India from Logee's, very fragant. Flore Plena looks like tiny rosebuds, Belle has longer, curly petals. Both very fragrant. These two are doubles. Maid of Orleans is a single, very floriferous, very fragrant, very robust. Bloom when small.

J. sambac Grand Duke of Tuscany from Almost Eden. Large very double flower, very fragrant.

J. grandiflorum (double) from Logee's. Viny, smaller leaves. Very fragrant. Flowers pink on the outside. Blooms when small.

Why not tell your friend you are thinking of getting one for yourself (or your mother), show her some pictures, and ask her which one she thinks you or your mother would like?

My Dr is Lebanese, and she loves the Grand Duke, which her parents grew in Lebanon.

o Post a Follow-Up