Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meyermike_1micha

Ate your fragrant plants still outside?

meyermike_1micha
11 years ago

If not, where are they?

My Brunfelsia, Gardenia, and Camelias are still sucking up all the fresh air and blue skies despite the cooler temps!!!!

When will yours come in?

I just love the fact that all this cool weather has had no negative effect on my plants. In fact, with these cooler nights, my gardenia'a are flowering more than ever!

What about yours?

Mike

Comments (33)

• fenius
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

hi Mike!
    yes mine are all outside, we have around 25C during the day lately (but with fluctuations between 15-30C!!) with a bit of rain too and the gardenias the clematis and my brugmansia look much better than during the heat..they will go inside around december, maybe the plumerias too, if not a little sooner...I started worrying about my tropicals as it is my first year with most of them and they are quite small so I will have to do a bit of research these days .. I remember reading about one that can not stand temps lower than 20C which is a bit extreme but I cannot remember which it was!!

• olympia_gardener
    11 years ago

Yes, mine are all still out. We did have some frost few nights back. I was moving in and out my orchids , but this is too much work for me. I decide to leave them out last night, they are all fine. They are tougher than I thought they were. I will not worried about bring them in till the temperature are in 30s. I think the ground is still warm.

• birdsnblooms
    11 years ago

Howdy. I'm guilty, too. lol.

Doubt I have as many fragrant plants as most here, but those I have are outside.

Hoyas, Gardenias, Citrus, Aglaia, Brugmansia, 1 Orchid, Gingers...what else is fragrant??
    This year, I didn't haul as many tropicals as usual..mostly succulents.