Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fragrantgrower

Blooming in October!

My Zygopetalum orchid is finally starting to develop a scent.
It's an interesting herbal/violet scent?
Haven't quite figured it out.

What's blooming for you? :)

-Robert

Comments (70)

• misha74
    9 years ago

True blue, your beautiful osmanthus maybe going strong but I'm going weak just looking at it :) Gotta have it!

• ordphien
    9 years ago

Room for vines I do not have....sadly.
    My pink Angel trumpet bloomed.
    I've been battling spider mites on it for three years. Still battling.
    My grandma planted it and it's nice to see and smell it bloom.

• Robert (zone 7a, Oklahoma)
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks, True Blue. I'll just keep checking their site in hopes they get some in. :)

Your sweet olive looks amazing as usual! Mine is still looking pitiful. Laugh.

Ordphien, I'm currently obsessed with brugs but I'm not having much luck with them this year.
    I battled broad mites which are microscopic and make spider mites look like a piece of cake.
    Thought I had gotten rid of them but they're back. :(
    Ordered some predatory mites (Amblyseius fallacis/Neoseiulus fallacis) in the hopes they will establish a population in my backyard and keep the broad mites under control. They also eat spider mites. :)

Finally got some blooms recently but of course the freaking spotted cucumber beetles started eating the blooms! Ugh.
    It never ends.

Good luck!

-Robert

Original Author
    9 years ago

Aloysia virgata has been blooming away. Smells better wafting in the breeze than up close but the pollinators sure do love it which is a huge bonus.
    My partner really likes the shape of the flower spikes. :)

-Robert

Original Author
    9 years ago

Here's my no ID brug that's just now blooming.
    It's pretty tall and tends to topple in the wind. Nice scent. Hoping to find room for it in the basement over the winter.

-Robert

• true_blue
    9 years ago