Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
may888

How to trim Michelia Alba

May888
10 years ago

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Michelia Alba. I bought about eight Michelia Alba plant about 3 months ago, but I gave away three to friends.

Most of them were about 4 ft. tall when I bought them. I noticed that they are producing a lot of leafs. It is now over 5 ft. tall and bushy.

My question is: Do I need to remove some of the leafs? The leafs are getting heavy so I tied them to the center branch. I'm trying to make the horizontal branch go upward with the center branch.

When should I remove extra leafs, if necessary? If so, then when is the best time to start trimming it down?

Should I just let the leafs grow as natural and not remove them?

Are there any do and don't in taking care of the Michelia Alba?

Here are pictures of the 5 ft tree and 8 ft tree.

Thanks in advance. Any comments or suggestions are much appreciated.

Comments (13)

• meyermike_1micha
    10 years ago

Let me just tell you that you are so lucky to have trees do that well for you and look that bushy!

I could only wish mine woull look like yours. Where do you live that they can grow that nice for you?
    Nice!!!

You are asking the wrong person for advice here..Since I would let mine grow as big as they could if I could leave them outside...And because I have to bring them in for the winter, I cut them back before I bring them in or as they start to grow or during summer..So basically I cut them back when I need to or feel like it and they always do well.

Have you had a flowers yet? What zone do you live in?
    Do you feed yours? Are they all in pots?

I am assuming you are in a warm climate since you get them that big!

MIke

• May888
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the response.

I live in the Bay Area California. I'm not sure what zone I'm in.