Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tonyb416

Gardenia leaves drying out

tonyb416
15 years ago

My gardenia's leaves are now almost all crispy and falling off. I think it might be an overwatering problem. I usually mist the plant every day, but I've been holding off watering the plant's soil for close to 3 weeks. The leaves are now quite crunchy to the touch. Have I overdone it with the water? It's in a southeastern facing window that gets about 2-3 hours of direct light and 2-3 hours of indirect light. I have noticed some small leaves coming out so it's not completely gone. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Tony

Comments (49)

• mersiepoo
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm by no means a gardenia expert, so I'm going by my own murder of my gardenias. What is your soil like? Gardenias like lighter soil that is fast draining and a low ph. Is it rootbound? I finally figured out that I had killed mine because it was soooo rootbound and wasn't getting any more nutrients. I lifted it out of the pot and it was 100 percent roots! Combined with watering it too much killed it.

Also, and this is a big thing..do NOT be nice to your plant! If you talk nicely to it it will KNOW what you want it to do, which is produce beautiful fragrant flowers. Then the game is over, and it'll toy with you for awhile before it commits suicide (do a search for the 'suicidal gardenia' thread if you haven't seen it before, it's HILARIOUS!).

The way I have kept mine from dying is this: