Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greendale_gw

Scented Plant Questions

greendale
11 years ago

I am quite new to house plant. I have been owning a couple "common"(big box store bought) house plant for less than a year (this coming winter will be their first one in our house). And I always wanted some fragrant plants, after some research (been lurking in this forum for a long time) and following are on my wish list:

Aglaia odorata

osmanthus fragrans fudingzhu

Michelia Alba

murraya paniculata

(not going to get them all at once - do not have that kind of budget and not that confident I can take care of all of them)

Problems are I live in New England, and I do not have green house, we keep our house temp pretty low - around 55 when nobody at home (weekday daytime), then around 64 at night. Can they survive in our house without green house? I am planning to take one day off and drive to Logee's to buy the plants. (about 1.5 hours from where I live), but before I do that. I want to see if they can endure the low temp. I do not want to bring them home just to freeze them to death. Or should I just forget about the idea of growing these plants in our house? which one in my list is relatively easier for a newbie like myself? Is there other fragrant plants that can endure the low temp? And finally is now a good time to get plants or should I wait till spring time. Would plants are healthier in spring time - If so I might be just wait. But wanted have some thing so that the winter does not look that dreadful.

Sorry for all the questions, any suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Comments (52)

• olympia_gardener
    11 years ago