Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kr222

Wafting Annuals for Border Plants in PA?

kr222
12 years ago

Although I've been gardening for many years, fragrance has been sadly overlooked. I really want to plant some lower-growing (under 2') annuals that will WAFT with fragrance day or night. I would also like them to look nice along the border to my front door from Spring until Fall. I live in zone 6b, Pennsylvania if this helps.

Thank you.

Kim

Comments (7)

• Dar Sunset Zone 18
    12 years ago

Hi Kim,
    While I can't guarantee they will look good througout the year, these seem have quite a long blooming season:

Alyssum
    Dianthus* (Sweet William, Dwarf Carnations)
    Phlox*
    Snapdragons*
    Petunias*

*You may want to research which varieties or species are fragrant. Many modern varieties, especially snapdragons and petunias have had the fragrance outbred.

You may also be interested in the old-fashioned vining petunias from Seed Savers Exchange (seedsavers.org). This variety has been praised by several members here for being pleasantly fragrant.

Dar

• kr222
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Dar
    Thanks for the suggestions. I never heard of old-fashioned vining petunias before. I tried to look up garden pictures of them, but there aren't many online. It's tough to visualize how they would look. They are definitely something I'm interested in learning more about.

You're right about modern varieties. Scent sure gets overlooked during the hybridization process. I guess that's why my garden is missing it. I grew snapdragons last year and they have no fragrance at all. Fragrant plants are hard to find in garden centers around here.